About one million registered members of the All Progressives Congress in Imo State and millions more of non-partisans have heaved a sigh of relief as the seeming uncertain clouds that hovered around the primaries of the most beloved and people propelled political Party in the State have finally cleared.

The reconstituted 2018 Imo APC Primaries Electoral Committee led by Rtd Brig Gen. Ibrahim Agbagbiaka has so far, discharged their duties honorably, transparently and creditably since arriving Imo State, yesterday.

On arrival to the State yesterday, they paid courtesy visits to the Commissioner of Police, the State Director of DSS and the INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner. They also held an interactive session with aspirants and Party stakeholders after which they addressed a press conference, where they restated their resolve to conduct the primaries in a very transparent method. They also appointed electoral officers for the 305 wards in the State, and returning officers for the 27 State Constituencies, 10 Federal Constituencies and three Senatorial Districts in the State.

From around 6:45 am, today, 6th September, 2018, they distributed sensitive electoral materials to the appointed electoral officers and deployed them to the various LGAs in the State. The distribution of these sensitive materials took place at the State headquarters of the Nigerian Police Force in Owerri, the Imo State capital.

Accreditation of voters started at 9:am in most areas and voting is expected to have commenced as at 10:30 am across the State. Reports from our field officers suggest that there is a high turn out of voters across the wards and voting is going on smoothly.

Successful candidates for the 27 House of Assembly seats are expected to be announced at the various LGA collation centers. House of Representatives candidates shall be announced at the Federal Constituency Collation centers, while the Senatorial collation centers. However, the Chairman of the NWC panel to Imo State, Rtd Brig Gen Ibrahim Agbagbiaka shall affirm the House of Representatives and Senatorial results at the State Secretariat of the Party in Owerri. The collation center for the Governorship direct Primary Election shall be at the State Secretariat of the Party in Owerri, and the Returning Officer for the governorship Primary is Rtd Brig Gen Ibrahim Agbagbiaka, who is the Chairman of the 2018 Primaries Election Committee for Imo State.

We wish all the nine Governorship aspirants, the Senatorial aspirants, House of Representatives and House of Assembly aspirants the best of luck, as we urge discipline and orderliness on the part of all Party members throughout the period of the primary elections.


Onwuasoanya FCC Jones

State Publicity Secretary

APC, Imo State

6th September, 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here